So, I’m…like…not dead, and stuff!

Reports to the contrary greatly exaggerated, I do assure all and [checks statcounter again] uh, sundry.

However – much as it pains me to speak harshly of a valuable body part, especially one that’s usually got my back whenever Shoemom starts nagging re: chocolate consumption – the ol’ immune system doesn’t get much credit for the case. Having successfully fought free of the sinus infection mentioned previously, all the teeny little T-cells were apparently too busy at the tiny little celebratory sock hop to notice that same infection sneaking back in through my throat.

(No, I have no idea why T-cells would want to throw a sock hop at any time. Maybe they were grooving to the new Britney tunes instead. Or sitting around chuckling at their vintage copy of Archie Meets the Punisher that they just found back in a drawer somewhere. Hell, with easily-distracted wee buggers like these, anything’s possible.)

Anyway, in a fashion strikingly reminiscent of Carrie grabbing Amy Irving from beyond the grave only even more pointlessly annoying, I’ve spent the past week running through all those ungodly symptoms yet again – sniffles and chills and fatigue, oh my – with the added bonus of a deep, chest-rattling cough. It was a really interesting week to be sitting in a five-person cubicle when the email re: free tuberculosis testing came down, let’s put it that way.
So as you can appreciate I was kind of in a weird spot re: creativity; the brain may have been appropriately fevered but the body refused to remain upright long enough to find out. Besides which Shoemom had this wild crackpot theory that the Return of the Zombie Virus from Hell might have had something to do with my staying up really late to write instead of, I dunno, sleeping and eating and stuff the first time ’round.
As noted, opportunities like this don’t come her way that often, so besides everything else it’s been all whoo-hoo! broccoli forever!, like, around the damn clock here @ Shoe Central, which kind of forces you to conclude you’d be better off unconscious anyway.

About all that was keeping me going was the prospect of a nice gossipy ramble through all the interesting stuff I’d missed; which clearly ticked off the universe, which is OK with millions suffering under fire, flood and famine just as long as my crappy existence is neatly tied off with the Fully Circular Bow of Irony; ie, today, to top everything off, the cramps strike again.

So basically, if anybody wants me this weekend, I’ll be under about eighteen pounds of covers with a flashlight, flipping through I, Claudius trying to figure out which vengeful deity to sacrifice to first. Possibly the goddess of Making Sure Mothers are Always Right, since you just know there has to be one. Or maybe the god who Doesn’t Appreciate Cracks About the Quality of Daytime TV, Thank You Very Much.

This could take awhile, folks. Everything else being equally, I’ll be making my next tentative foray into bodily-fluid-free living about, oh, Sunday or so. See you then!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rj_anderson
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 21:17:30

    “I weep for you,” the Walrus said, “I deeply sympathize.”

    All the more as I slowly succumb to Some Horrible Cold Bug which is currently amusing itself by stealing my voice and setting fire to my tonsils —

    Gaaaack.

    BTW, I have taken your advice about Alison’s narration to heart, and as I re-edit the earlier chapters am seeing where I can make her sound at least a little more like a plausible seventeen-year-old girl, albeit a very well-read and more than usually metaphorically inclined one… so thank you, etc.

  2. solo_1
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 13:57:04

    Poor Shoe…. Now you will know to listen to your Mum…they are always right in the end regardless!

    I totally love I, Claudius…think I have read it at least 6 times, so good choice for blanket/flashlight reading. Maybe you should leave scrolls carelessly strewn around your room for Shoemom to find requesting chocolate… couldn’t hurt, the Gods are merciful sometimes.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  3. shoebox2
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 11:00:48

    Awww, thanks. Back at you, too, also. [hugs]

    Also, am so glad you found my efforts helpful! I’m all excited about the new chapters, now…

  4. shoebox2
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 11:04:08

    Thanks much. Am slowly-but-surely climbing back to consciousness…by following Shoemom’s advice to the letter. [sigh] I don’t mind her being right, exactly, so much as her telling me so. 🙂

    On the other hand, she is really good with requests for fudge and cookies. I don’t even have to bust out the Latin. So I guess you’re right, it all works out in the end.

Leave a Reply

