Looks like I’ve done it again…

…Specifically, in the course of trying to create a poll to gauge public reaction to this journal, I managed to:

1) Delete the original poll somehow;

2) In the course of recreating it and reposting the HTML in the original entry, somehow manage to cause LJ to believe that I don’t have the rights to view the poll, meaning I have no way of knowing whether one person’s responded, or fifty;

and

3) In the course of looking all this up in the FAQ, discover that LJ polls are only open in the first place to registered LJ users. Which not only provides yet another possible reason why the lack of visible response, but gives me reason to believe that I’ve actually completely cheezed off a substantial portion of the readership.

Or, to put it another way, apparently this entire poll project had a sort of Tower of Babel effect on the gods of Viewer Response, whose job it is to prevent me from ever gauging (at least, on a wide scale) public opinion of my various writing projects, ever.

[sigh] Fine. You win, universe. In conjunction with the gods of Really Lousy Weather, you have reduced me to a state of cabin fever such that not only do I not care about being interesting myself at the moment, my horizons re: the world at large have reduced to the point where their only satisfactory outlet is reading the ‘Articles for Deletion’ debates on Wikipedia. If things get really bad, I may go see how that discussion of primary-vs.-secondary sources for comic book villans is coming along…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. solo_1
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 23:03:27

    Murphy’s law strkes again!

  2. shoebox2
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 23:31:53

    Mm. I had no idea Murphy’s Law applied to entire ruddy weather systems, but apparently…

Leave a Reply

