Bob & Ray moment of the week

OK, I’ve decided to stop apologising for these, on the grounds that I’ve been reading the blogs of people I like and respect for some while now, and nobody’s similarly worried about their mental health in re: celebrating, say, Supernatural, or whichever Doctor happens to be in vogue that week, or for that matter how long it takes Psylocke of the X-Men to wrap those ninja-y things around her legs each time she gets into costume.

B&R were both even kinda…er…well…adorably homely, back when they were very young. Ray had a genuinely sweet, guileless smile, and Bob those big blue eyes.

So you’ll excuse me while I [sporfle!] over a couple moments from a recently-discovered Christmas 1949 show. The first – which is maybe funnier from the female POV – involves a valiant attempt to recall exactly who besides Jane Russell (and presumably her, ah, girlfriends) stars in The Outlaw, made in 1943 but only recently released by the censors in Boston. “Well, there’s some horses, I guess,” Bob finally hazards. “I mean, it’s a Western.”

The second actually comes a bit earlier in the program; there are no commercials this day, so Mary McGoon (Ray) kills the time suggesting ways the duo can ‘sell’ more effectively. Bob mentions that it’s a shame they can’t ‘play and sing’ like other announcers, which leads to the following:

Mary: “Can you play any instruments at all?”
Bob: “No! No, that’s the problem, we’re untalented. Completely.”
Ray: “Hey, I’m not so bad. My boy got one of ’em xylophones from Santa Claus, and I can play Jingle Bells on it.”
Bob: “Well, we couldn’t play that all year!”
Ray (huffily): “Why not?”
Bob (hastily): “So, Mary, what were your ideas?”
Ray (sulkily) “…I can also play the Marine Hymn.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shing_
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 13:32:45

    Bask in the unapologetic fangirlness!!

    I’ve never listened to Bob & Ray but I can just hear that exchange 🙂

  2. shoebox2
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 22:38:56

    Heh. Thanks.

    I am discovering lately that fangirliness is rather more…complex…than I may have previously given it credit for. And some of the layers are definitely worth revelling in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

