Keeps me searching for a heart of gold…

OK, you asked for it…What? Well, look, just play along for awhile, could you?

Seriously, the camera has been my constant companion the last couple days, and I have to say the results have been pretty encouraging. I mean, even if I’m not a pro just yet, at least I won’t be embarrassing myself in comparison with the pages of…uh…well, Better Homes & Gardens, mostly. Hey, it’s not my fault I don’t live in the South of France, OK? If Hbc had a branch office I would be all about the sun-drenched vineyards and lush…um, what else do they have out there besides vineyards, anyway? Anybody know? Is it important?

At any rate, in my ‘umble experience there’s very little to compete with a lazy Saturday-afternoon stroll through Leaside, the Toronto neighborhood just to the east of mine. It’s a tiny perfect city oasis of lovingly-restored old brick houses set against soft, almost dreamlike spills of green (clik any pic to enlarge):

evergreens

brick house

More scenes from the party the local flora was throwing in honour of spring:

blue rail

trees

pink tulip

row of tulips

trillium

periwinkle

flowering almond

japanese maple

tulip wall

tulip close-up

lilies

cherry tree & car

On the way home we detoured through Mount Pleasant Cemetery, just below our building. Over the many years and memorial plantings this particular burial ground has become almost as famous as a botanical garden:

lace tree

lace tree cluse-up

narcissus at gate

white alleyway

cherry tree closeup

cherry branch

fountains

tulip bed

tulip close-up

pink tulips

So…what do you think, sirs?

What I think is I’m not going to inflict anything like this kind of pageant on the readership on a…well, regular basis anyhow. At least, not until after the upcoming Cute Kitty segment. Oh, and the Random Funny Stuffies. And…

OK, seriously, I’m already getting anxious to pick up with the written word again.

Still…the lure of the Perfect Image is a seductive one, plus my friend who has a similar camera (it was borrowing hers for the day that initially led to this purchase) is eager to demonstrate the Special Features…so I make no absolute promises. Other than the one about no Shoemom in her PJs, that is. The consequences of that one involve indefinite suspension of fudge privileges.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rj_anderson
    May 12, 2008 @ 11:06:54

    Ooh, lovely pics!

  2. solo_1
    May 12, 2008 @ 12:36:38

    What gorgeous flowers to cheer me up on a rather grey, damp day here. I especially like the flowering trees.

    Up here the trilliums are all out in force, but unfortunately so are the black fly…

  3. shoebox2
    May 13, 2008 @ 00:51:48

    Thanks! Hope I was able to brighten your day a bit. 🙂

  4. shoebox2
    May 13, 2008 @ 00:52:26

    Ow [winces with sympathy]. I do hate bugs! Good to know I could help.

  5. anonymous
    May 13, 2008 @ 12:11:03

    Nice photos!

    Thanks to one of them I may have finally figured out what kind of tree we have in the front yard. (Only been here a year and a half) I’ll have to look closer once the leaves are fully out. Everything is behind here.

    M2B

Leave a Reply

