I’m so excited! And I just can’t hide it!

So the music project has somehow morphed (coughcoughcoughwith the aid of Frostwirecoughcough) into a super-spectacular star-studded trip down memory lane.

All I know for sure is, I went to the Closet of Half-Forgotten Things to check my cassettes for a song title, and suddenly realised…I have a LOT of cassettes. Like, entire previous musical lives were sitting there mouldering away.
Naturally I paused to take a closer look, which on reflection may have been a tactical error. Awww, hey, it’s Huey Lewis! The Cars! Tears For Fears! Music From Miami Vice! How could I have denied my heritage this way? Come to my arms, you beamish little plastic memories, I must ensure you are immortalised forever!

…I think it was the realisation that I was eagerly searching for Parachute Club lyrics that finally snapped me out of it.

The encouraging part is that, as it turns out, I had pretty good musical taste back then (‘then’ being roughly 1983-93). Aside from your standard teenage flirtations with a good beat and a cute bod – Eric Carmen, what was I thinking? –  and the weakness for big, Meaningful power ballads that I think it was illegal not to have in the 80’s, I seem to have escaped the worst. Even the aforementioned Miami Vice soundtrack now just makes me smile indulgently, not cringe.

(Bonus fun true coincidence: As I was coming home from work today, the local EZ-Rock station’s ‘Feel-Good Favourite at Five’ was Glenn Frey’s The Heat is On, from that very same soundtrack. And lo, there was much indulgent smiling right there.)

I’m even rather proud, like a fond parent would be, of my fascination with Brit synthpop – Eurythmics, Thompson Twins, the Human League, that sort of thing.  This is where it would be really nice to go back in time and advise my HS self; I seem to have been flirting on the borderline of cool all that time without even realising it…

*has a relisten to I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight*

…OK, maybe not. Still…

*smiles indulgently*

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalquessa
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:29:05

    I am in love with your cassette tape collection. *loves*

  2. kalquessa
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:29:05

    I am in love with your cassette tape collection. *loves*

  3. kalquessa
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:29:05

    I am in love with your cassette tape collection. *loves*

  4. kalquessa
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:29:05

    I am in love with your cassette tape collection. *loves*

  5. kalquessa
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:29:05

    I am in love with your cassette tape collection. *loves*

  6. Trackback: kalquessa
  7. Shoebox
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 04:16:50

    Awww, thanks!

  8. Shoebox
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 04:16:50

    Awww, thanks!

  9. Shoebox
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 04:16:50

    Awww, thanks!

  10. Shoebox
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 04:16:50

    Awww, thanks!

  11. Shoebox
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 04:16:50

    Awww, thanks!

  12. Trackback: Shoebox

Leave a Reply

