Wondering where the lions are

Kitteh has finally collapsed on the bed behind me, having tried for a good  ten minutes to figure out how to work the keyboard. As near as I can make out, this is the message she wanted to send: mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmMMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmm [crash browser].

If I don’t update for a while, send help.

*****************************************************

Meanwhile. Bob & Ray biography – or at least, expansion of my article to include deeper motivations, and broader perspectives. Definitely beats markdown credits on the Points to Ponder scale. Not least because more plausible; as noted previously many of the Goulding family at least are on Facebook, and belong to a Bob & Ray fan group.

I am something hesitant about going on and finding out about the Elliott family, because it’s all a bit scarily plausible, to be honest. They seem like nice people, and I have a policy about pestering nice people. This policy has been under serious refinement over the last few weeks checking in on my own Facebook account, in which I have rec’d no less than three Friend requests from ‘lonely’ African men (plus one woman) and one from a Ponzi scheme. I do have a legitimate article to back me up, at least, but not much more.

Besides…given the research I did end up doing, I’m not completely sure whether I even should. As I’ve mentioned before, their genius has a weirdly impenetrable intimacy, rather like those twins who develop a private language. With very rare exceptions, when cornered by the media their modus operandi was to talk to each other, instead.

If the interviewer went along with it (as did Roger Ebert, interestingly) he was treated to a private, if wholly impersonal, performance; if he persisted in trying to actually interview them… they would simply continue the routine. Only more so. One poor sap from the Los Angeles Times, having sat through twenty minutes of such responses as "Gee, I wonder how they get those windows clean [on the highrise opposite]?" was driven to inform them that they were the absolute dullest celebrities he’d ever encountered. "Yeah, a lot of people tell us that," Ray responded calmly. "Can’t imagine why."

Somehow, I am not totally shocked and amazed that for many years after Ray’s death in 1990, Bob Elliott refused all interviews.

So I’m driven to the same conclusion I was before Facebook: much as I’d love to, trying to pry into this setup just feels wrong – like I’m not only intruding but spoiling the performance somehow. They were the exact same Average Americans they were spoofing, save for the self-awareness, and as a survival mechanism they turned it into part of the gag…

…either that, or to them, it was really just as simple as making each other laugh.

Frustrating as either option is, they compel respect.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 19:56:08

    Ladies & germs, she’s right!

    I think in the back of my mind I’ve always felt the same thing when it comes to learning more about Bob & Ray. I would like to but some part of me says no. With Bob in his golden years, I think I became a little selfish for a while…wanting to hear the stories and how they did what they did. But, in the end, it’s not necessary. The comedy speaks for itself. And, luckily, we have so much of it.

    Some mighty fine articulation there, Shoe. We shall listen to what we have and enjoy it. Man, I love that Professor Groggins and his rocket to the moon!

    Have a great day.
    -Dan Budnik

  2. Anonymous
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 19:56:08

    Ladies & germs, she’s right!

    I think in the back of my mind I’ve always felt the same thing when it comes to learning more about Bob & Ray. I would like to but some part of me says no. With Bob in his golden years, I think I became a little selfish for a while…wanting to hear the stories and how they did what they did. But, in the end, it’s not necessary. The comedy speaks for itself. And, luckily, we have so much of it.

    Some mighty fine articulation there, Shoe. We shall listen to what we have and enjoy it. Man, I love that Professor Groggins and his rocket to the moon!

    Have a great day.
    -Dan Budnik

  3. Trackback: Anonymous
  4. Shoebox
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 02:56:39

    Re: Ladies & germs, she’s right!

    Thanks much. πŸ™‚ I suppose it’s mostly rationalising what was never gonna happen anyway (“So…your dad. Scary good at playing women. Comments?”) but it does feel a lot better.

    But, in the end, it’s not necessary. The comedy speaks for itself. And, luckily, we have so much of it.

    Mm. Speaking of fine articulation… πŸ™‚ I love Professor Groggins myself.

    Incidentally – because I just discovered your previous comment shortly before this:

    I’m still enjoying the Turbot Town Stories immensely. Possibly because I can relate just a wee bit too closely to the hugely important minutiae that is small-town life. You’ve got just the right surreal twist on it — for some reason the saga of the old and new movie reviewers tickles me particularly.

    Have you heard Bob & Ray on a Platter? That early stereo sound is fantastic.

    Would this be related to ‘Bob & Ray Throw a Stereo Spectacular?’ Because somebody posted that in parts to YouTube, and I favourited it but haven’t yet gotten into it. It sounded like routines I’d heard before – hadn’t thought about the sound angle. *trots off to YouTube post-haste*

  5. Shoebox
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 02:56:39

    Re: Ladies & germs, she’s right!

    Thanks much. πŸ™‚ I suppose it’s mostly rationalising what was never gonna happen anyway (“So…your dad. Scary good at playing women. Comments?”) but it does feel a lot better.

    But, in the end, it’s not necessary. The comedy speaks for itself. And, luckily, we have so much of it.

    Mm. Speaking of fine articulation… πŸ™‚ I love Professor Groggins myself.

    Incidentally – because I just discovered your previous comment shortly before this:

    I’m still enjoying the Turbot Town Stories immensely. Possibly because I can relate just a wee bit too closely to the hugely important minutiae that is small-town life. You’ve got just the right surreal twist on it — for some reason the saga of the old and new movie reviewers tickles me particularly.

    Have you heard Bob & Ray on a Platter? That early stereo sound is fantastic.

    Would this be related to ‘Bob & Ray Throw a Stereo Spectacular?’ Because somebody posted that in parts to YouTube, and I favourited it but haven’t yet gotten into it. It sounded like routines I’d heard before – hadn’t thought about the sound angle. *trots off to YouTube post-haste*

  6. Trackback: Shoebox
  7. Anonymous
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 00:25:11

    Re: Ladies & germs, she’s right!

    Professor Groggins and his rocking chair on the porch of his rocket always makes me laugh. Those bits accumulate. I so hope that he made it into orbit or around the moon or whatever he was doing.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Turbot. Most of those bits were written very quickly (“instant writing”, I call it) so forgive anything that’s a bit on the “What?” side.

    Bob & Ray on a Platter is pretty great. I think the “Stereo Spectacular” is them mingled with other record company artists. On A Platter is all them. I had another listen last night and there are only two bits on it that I recognize. But, they are both in a (sort of) different context. I think sometimes the Stereo doodling around kind of overtakes them but it’s pure B&R nevertheless.

    I like the question you had to the Gouldings. (Here’s mine. “So…when your dad did Webley Webster’s voice did he put something in his mouth or shake his cheeks or…?”)

    Have a great weekend and hang by your thumbs, would ya please?

    Dan

  8. Anonymous
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 00:25:11

    Re: Ladies & germs, she’s right!

    Professor Groggins and his rocking chair on the porch of his rocket always makes me laugh. Those bits accumulate. I so hope that he made it into orbit or around the moon or whatever he was doing.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Turbot. Most of those bits were written very quickly (“instant writing”, I call it) so forgive anything that’s a bit on the “What?” side.

    Bob & Ray on a Platter is pretty great. I think the “Stereo Spectacular” is them mingled with other record company artists. On A Platter is all them. I had another listen last night and there are only two bits on it that I recognize. But, they are both in a (sort of) different context. I think sometimes the Stereo doodling around kind of overtakes them but it’s pure B&R nevertheless.

    I like the question you had to the Gouldings. (Here’s mine. “So…when your dad did Webley Webster’s voice did he put something in his mouth or shake his cheeks or…?”)

    Have a great weekend and hang by your thumbs, would ya please?

    Dan

  9. Trackback: Anonymous

Leave a Reply

