“I never dreamed it’d be the dust mops!…They’ve always been our friends!”

It occurred to me quite suddenly today that my Sesame Street tribute post has maybe one itty-bitty flaw: that a decent chunk of my readership probably doesn’t know what the heck I’m talking about, beyond hazy guesses as to a sudden case of Tourettes’.

Mind you, clarifying may not help my cause much either…but it’s bound to be a whole lot funnier. So here’s the long-untold story of the day the Muppet Martians (Jim Henson and Jerry Hunt) made First Contact:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rj_anderson
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 20:57:31

    (without watching the video)

    YUP YUP YUP YUP YUP

    Also favorites of mine: the two-headed monster, the pinball-game number animations with lyrics sung by the Pointer Sisters, and the poignant story of the lower-case n. (“High upon a hill… the wind was very still… for the lower-case nnnnnnn!!!”)

  2. shoebox2
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 21:54:29

    Yes, exactly. 🙂 (Hope you’re feeling better, BTW.)

    The ‘lower-case n’ people were also responsible for the story of the ‘Capital I’, which I think introduced me to the entire concept of ‘angst’ as a nine-year-old.

Leave a comment